Heads Up

Welcome to Heads Up, your one-stop source for news about your son’s upcoming activities and events.

Message from Intermediate Division head Derek Poon

derek poonUpcoming Intermediate Division dates:

Friday, Feb. 17 to Monday, Feb. 20: Founder’s Day/Family Day long weekend
Tuesday, Feb. 21: First dress; period one starts at 8:30 a.m.; principal’s assembly starts at 9:55 a.m.; guest speaker Spencer West from Me To We
Wednesday, Feb. 22: Casual dress Pink Shirt Day; A Midsummer Night’s Dream, David Chu Theatre, 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Feb. 23: A Midsummer Night’s Dream, David Chu Theatre, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 24: Mental health casual dress day; assembly presentation on The Jack Project; A Midsummer Night’s Dream, David Chu Theatre, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 25: A Midsummer Night’s Dream, David Chu Theatre, 2 p.m.

The Walk for Homeless Youth (#WHY17) for Year 1 students will place on Tuesday, March 7 for the entire school day. This is an annual service learning event that helps our boys better understand and temporarily experience the challenges of life on the street for youth in Toronto. Parents of Y1 boys are reminded to return signed permission and waiver forms through their sons. Extra copies are available in the accompanying article on the Walk for Homeless Youth.

The Y1 Norval trip is scheduled for the week of Monday, April 24 to Friday, April 28. In preparation for this outdoor adventure, there will be communication outlining the week, activities, paperwork, waivers and other important matters. This is a mandatory component in Y1, so please mark your calendars. Look for more information in future editions of Heads Up. Please contact Norval Outdoor School director Bill Elgie or me if you have any questions.

Enjoy the Family/Founder’s Day long weekend.